Judi Buehrer, 2008 Winner and National Runnerup

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:34+00:00 July 17th, 2008|Categories: Communicator of Achievement, Competitions|

As a child, she loved to read about intrepid gal reporter “Brenda Starr” in the comic pages. In high school, she authored a weekly gossip column, “Jabbers by Judi.” As an adult, she’s covered events ranging from county commission meetings to a coup in Russia. With stellar professional credentials and an outstanding record of service to [...]

Comments Off on Judi Buehrer, 2008 Winner and National Runnerup

CPW awards three scholarships in 2008

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:34+00:00 June 12th, 2008|Categories: College Communications Scholarship, Competitions|

Colorado Press Women awarded three scholarships in 2008 — Donnae Wahl to Donnae Wahl, a student at the University of Northern Colorado; Taylor Stonehouse, a new graduate of Mesa State College; and Zeljka Borovic from the University of Dubrovnik in Croatia. Donnae is a senior political science major, with a minor in women's studies [...]

Comments Off on CPW awards three scholarships in 2008

Marilyn Saltzman, 2007 Winner

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:34+00:00 July 30th, 2007|Categories: Communicator of Achievement, Competitions|

Marilyn Saltzman, APR, worked for Jeffco Public Schools, the largest school district in Colorado, for 20 years. Her job included media relations, crisis communications, internal and external public relations and publications. Her publications and programs received numerous state and national awards. She managed media and internal relations during the Columbine crisis and is currently consulting on [...]

Comments Off on Marilyn Saltzman, 2007 Winner

DU Student Wins 2007 CPW Scholarship Award

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:34+00:00 June 15th, 2007|Categories: College Communications Scholarship, Competitions|

Kara Lyons, 2007 college scholarship winner Colorado Press Women has awarded its 2007 college scholarship to Kara Lyons, a student at the University of Denver. Kara was born and raised in Lakewood, where she lived with her parents and a brother and sister until heading to college. She began taking journalism classes in her [...]

Comments Off on DU Student Wins 2007 CPW Scholarship Award

2007 CPW High School Communications Contest Awards

By | 2016-09-09T17:37:05+00:00 May 12th, 2007|Categories: Competitions, High School Communications Contest|

Nearly 60 Colorado high school journalists have been recognized by Colorado Press Women for their writing and graphic design skills. The students are learning journalism skills by participating in the creation and production of their school newspapers. The contest categories include Editorial, Opinion, News, Feature, Sports, Columns, Feature Photo, Sports Photo, Cartooning, Reviews, Graphics and Page [...]

Comments Off on 2007 CPW High School Communications Contest Awards

Joyce Davis, 2006 Winner

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:34+00:00 July 15th, 2006|Categories: Communicator of Achievement, Competitions|

Colorado Press Women has selected Fort Collins journalist Joyce Davis as the 2006 Communicator of Achievement. Davis, assistant city editor at The Coloradoan, exemplifies outstanding professional achievement, as witnessed by her collection of award-winning stories in contests sponsored by CPW, the National Federation of Press Women, Society of Professional Journalists and the Colorado Press Association. Davis [...]

Comments Off on Joyce Davis, 2006 Winner

UNC Student Wins 2006 CPW Scholarship

By | 2017-05-25T11:35:35+00:00 June 22nd, 2006|Categories: College Communications Scholarship, Competitions|

Christine Powell (left), 2006 college scholarship winner, with CPW member Bobbi Gigone Christine Powell, a student at the University of Northern Colorado, was CPW's 2006 college scholarship winner. She received a $350 scholarship and a free one-year membership in CPW. CPW members honored her during the spring conference. Christine was nominated by her adviser, [...]

Comments Off on UNC Student Wins 2006 CPW Scholarship